Starting Over….again

Wow.  It has been over a year since I posted anything to this blog.  A lot has happened in the last year.  I sold my house.  I bought a new home that I love! I got a bit promotion at work that is exciting, and hard, and sometimes a little bit scary.  I started this calendar year out strong with some bold goals.  I have done really well with some and marginal with others.  Overall life is a whirlwind and for the most part I am enjoying every minute of it.

I am feeling a pull to post more–even if it is just journaling and no one but me reads it.  In fact, there are some reasons that would make knowing that no one else was ever going to read this even better.  Alas….I’m keeping the blog public.

When it comes to setting goals I have always had a structure in my mind that would indicate that there should be five categories of goals:  spiritual, physical, social, financial, educational.  I struggle with how to approach goal setting because there is a part of me that thinks that I need a goal in each of these categories.  Another part of me thinks that I should have two or three goals in each category.  What usually happens is that I set two or three in each category–none of them realistic–and then I fail.

I’m finding that to be one of the blessings and the curses of my personality type.  I have great ideas.  I think that so many things are possible.  I set my sights really high and set up a regimented protocol and then I either find that I have way overestimated what I am capable of doing (in that I have too many balls in the air) or I don’t have the resources or time available to complete my goals.  Or I just get bored and move on to the next best thing.

I started the year out with a goal to read the entire standard works (The Old Testament, The New Testament, The Book of Mormon, The Doctrine and Covenants, and the Pearl of Great Price).  I even found a great reading schedule on a blog and was doing a great job of keeping up with that schedule until TV was installed in my new house.  Then… 😦 Boo.  Hiss.

I have a goal to make some great progress on my debt.  As part of the plan for this, I invited one of my very good friends to move in and rent a few rooms from me.  She did.  For the most part it has been great.  She has a cute little cat who is a complete darling.  However, I have never been in a home with an indoor pet.  I knew that there would be things I would need to get used to.  But….I am really struggling with the things that come along with having a pet in the house.  This week has been a rough one in that I have asked my friend to find a new place to live.  I will miss so many things about having them here, but the most important thing is to retain our friendship and parting ways now is the best way to ensure that neither of us becomes resentful.  I am so blessed with and grateful for this good friend and the gracious manner in which she accepted my decision.  It means more to me than I will ever be able to express.  I love her!  This decision, however, has put a definite road block in my path to quick financial freedom.  I am having to take a step back now and reevaluate where I go from here.

I always have great plans for getting fit and losing weight.  I am signed up for a 5K in May and I have done a total of one day of training.  Yes.  I’m pretty sure I will be walking the whole thing.  I also signed up for a half-marathon in August.  Once again we are back to the pie-in-the-sky, I-can-do-everything girl I mentioned above.  What on earth makes me think that I, a 330 pound-5’4″-46-year-old woman will be anywhere near in shape enough to run a half-marathon at the end of the summer?  I am nuts!  I signed up to do a testimonial group at Freemotion Fitness that starts next week that could help me reach that goal.  However, in light of the recent change in my financial situation I may need to rethink that.  One day I hope to be free of wanting to get fit and lose weight and be in a place where I only have goals to maintain my weight and seek fitness for a particular athletic endeavor.

Last year I had a goal to be better about maintaining and nurturing relationships.  I believe I have done a good job at that but there is still some room to improve in that area. I need to set some minor goals in this area, but I think this is one area where I am doing pretty well.

So, my goal for this next week is to spend some time thinking about what I want to accomplish during the next six months, think about one or two realistic goals that will help me achieve those goals.  The main thing I will need to do is to remember to be realistic.  My focus needs to be on making sure I don’t set myself up for failure.  Make sure that I set goals that I can commit to without concern that I will get bored or feel too overwhelmed.

My plan is to stop back here in the next week to 10 days and talk about those plans moving forward.  Some ideas I am kicking around:

*Spiritual–very simple goals….an amount of time reading the scriptures daily….daily prayer….meeting attendance….temple attendance

*Physical–very simple goals…an amount of time exercising…honing in on my dietary beliefs…completing the races I have already signed up for.

*Financial–very simple goals…write a zero based budget every month…cash flow all of my expenses (read….no credit card use here),…even if I can manage that for the next six months I will be leaps and bounds ahead of where I am now.

*Social–very simple goals…make and accept social commitments thoughtfully and keep the commitments I make. I have a tendency to to want to do everything, feel overwhelmed, and then cancel on people.  I want to be more thoughtful about this so that people understand how much I truly value them and aren’t confused about that by having me cancel too often.

Educational….very simple goals.  I need to pick an area to study….just one or two…and make some time weekly to work on that. Things like Photography, Dressing Your Truth, home decorating, etc.

Cheers,

Teresa

Posted on April 30, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

