A New Life Goal

I’m writing this because I want to remember how I feel today. I’m not writing this post to brag or pat myself on the back.  I’m simply recording it because I know from past experience that there will be a day, sometime in the future, where I might need to be reminded of how I feel today so that I can stay on the path of this new goal/characteristic/person I want to become.

I want to be a giver.  I want to put myself in a position where I can look at those around me and provide something they need or even just share something I love with them because I know it will make them happy. Let me tell you why….

As I have mentioned before, I’ve been taking Financial Peace University. This week was our last lesson.  The topic?  Giving. And, as often is the case, I got the opportunity to put what I learned into practice almost immediately. I’ve been taught about the importance of sharing what we have since I was little. My parents have been and continue to be great examples of giving.  I’ve always believed in tithing and doing what I could to take care of the poor.

I’ve never thought of myself as not being generous, but I know that I haven’t sought opportunities to give as often as I could. I won’t go into details about the gift (except to say that it wasn’t a large value monetarily), or the recipients, or why it was not the easiest thing for me to do.  However, how I felt–immediately upon making the decision–is something that I hope never leaves me.  And…it was more fun for me to share this one item than to use it myself.  It is hard to put into words how happy I felt when it was all said and done.

I have a new purpose for wanting to be financially sound. I want to be in a position to feel like I do today–every day. To know that I can bless and help others along the way. I’m even more motivated to get out of debt now and make my life about sharing what I have with those around me.

Posted on November 9, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

