Prayer

I believe in God.  I believe in the power of prayer.  And yet I frequently find myself struggling with being consistent in my prayers.  I always have a prayer, of sorts, in my heart; but when it comes to the daily act of kneeling and conversing freely with my creator I find that I struggle.

I struggle to find the right words.

I struggle to feel worthy of such in intimate connection with deity amid my daily struggles to do and be.

I struggle with distractions.

And, I’m ashamed to say it, sometimes I struggle the attitude of a petulant child.

I am reminded of a lesson taught in Relief Society several years ago about prayer that has returned to my conscious recently.  The following passages from the Bible Dictionary struck a chord:

1.  “As soon as we learn the true relationship in which we stand toward God (namely, God is our Father, and we are his children), then at once prayer becomes natural and instinctive on our part (Matt. 7:7–11). Many of the so-called difficulties about prayer arise from forgetting this relationship.”

I’m sure that the main cause of my difficulty in consistent, heart-felt, earnest prayer stems from forgetting my relationship with God.  He is my father and truly wants what is best for me.  I love the scripture in Matthew referenced above–particularly verses 9-11, which read: “9 Or what man is there of you, whom if his son ask abread, will he give him a stone?  10 Or if he ask a fish, will he give him a serpent?  11 If ye then, abeing evil, know how to give good gifts unto your children, how much more shall your Father which is in heaven give good things to them that ask him?”

My parents are awesome.  I have never–for even a day–doubted their love for me.  I know now, just as I did when I was a very small child, that they wanted to give me their very best and that they would do everything in their power to help me get what I asked for if it was in my best interest.  Why would God not be the same?  And, if He is who this scripture describes him to be (and I believe he is), then why should a consistent pattern of prayer be such a struggle for me?

2. “Prayer is the act by which the will of the Father and the will of the child are brought into correspondence with each other. The object of prayer is not to change the will of God, but to secure for ourselves and for others blessings that God is already willing to grant, but that are made conditional on our asking for them.”

This statement from the Bible Dictionary has really made me think over the years.  Prayer is the act by which the will of the Father and the will of the child are brought into correspondence….what a powerful statement of the purpose of prayer.  My thoughts lately have focused a lot on wanting to find out what God would have me do with my life.  What is my purpose?  Do I have a mission to fulfill?  Certainly there has to be a higher purpose to my life than simply moving from one day to the next.  Being reminded of this statement further emphasizes my need to JUST BEGIN a daily, consistent communication with my Father in Heaven.

It is also a great reminder that there are blessings that God is willing and ready to provide if I would only ask.

3. And finally, “Blessings require some work or effort on our part before we can obtain them. Prayer is a form of work, and is an appointed means for obtaining the highest of all blessings.”

Prayer requires some effort on our part.  It isn’t going to necessarily be easy–until, as stated in #1 above, I come to really realize and understand my relationship with God.  I like how in #1 it states that once we do thisthen at once prayer becomes natural and instinctive on our part.”  That is my goal.

So…as is the purpose of this Blog…tonight I will take a step in this direction.

Posted on October 19, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

