Looking on the Bright Side . . .

I think we all know at least a few of those people.  You know the ones. . . people who seem to be happy regardless of their circumstances.  One of these is Julie–a work-study student that worked in my office about 12 years ago.  She always had a smile on her face.  I never heard her complain. She expected the best and I think , because of that, she probably got the best at least 90% of the time.  And, because of her great attitude, she was probably happy about that other 10% too.

This kind of optimism is something that I have long admired.  Don’t get me wrong–I’m a generally happy and optimistic person.  I do, however, find myself getting mired down in negative happenstance from time to time.  I want to do better.

So, in the spirit of JUST BEGIN, I’m trying to put this into action today.  Based on circumstances, today may not have been the best day for a new beginning in this area.

  • (not bright side)$500 worth of plumbing
  • (not bright side)a flooded bedroom along with all of the needed cleanup
  • (bright side) a friend lent me his Bissell carpet cleaner which made all the difference in getting the water up
  • (not bright side) Plumber knocked over a cabinet he was moving which landed squarely on the borrowed machinery, smashing it to smitherines.
  • (bright side) he pulled his credit card out and we ordered a replacement part immediately–along with leaving his contact info so that he could buy a complete replacement if needed.

I’m trying.  I’ve JUST BEGUN to do my best at finding the silver lining.  I’ll be interested to see if it makes a noticeable difference in my contentment and happiness after practicing this for a couple of weeks.

How about you?  Are you able to find the good in most things?  Do you have any tips or tricks for making this a way of life?

 

Posted on October 16, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

