A Slow Beginning

One of the things that I am learning is that it takes me a while to warm up.  It seems very opposite the title of this blog.  At the rate I’m going one might think I should have named it “Just Warm Up to the Idea.” 🙂

However, I think it brilliantly represents my whole point.  Start where you.  Take a step in the right direction–even if it is a baby step.  Once that is complete, take another.  And…before you know it you will be running.

I am happy to announce that I have actually begun!  YAY!  (I know–so exciting!)

I recently began a new diet/exercise regime.  I’m not convinced it is the right one for me.  I have seen some success, but I think I went into it with a bit of naivety.  One of the lessons I really need to learn is to trust myself.  Believe that I have the knowledge and power to make the best decisions for me.  I’m using this week as a vetting point and Tuesday of next week will be my own D-day of sorts for this program.  My beliefs that have developed over the past 40+ years of dieting and learning about what is best for my body are a bit opposed to what I have been doing and I’ve been struggling with that a bit.  I’ll go into more detail once I’ve made a final decision.  But at least for now…I have begun and I’m moving, however slowly, in a positive direction.

The second thing I’ve begun in to grapple with my finances.  I recently enrolled in Financial Peace University  and have been consistent with my attendance and homework.  Debt is scary.  The thought of living without the safety net of credit cards is scary.  But…for now I’m moving in the right direction and I believe I can do the hard things it will take to get out of debt and have financial freedom.

The third thing I am working on is developing a talent.  For as long as I can remember I have loved taking pictures.  I have a Polaroid from the Christmas that my brother and I both got new Polaroid cameras.  My love started there and has been an on-again off-again hobby over the past decades.  I recently decided that I need to make an opportunity on a weekly basis to develop my skill at taking pictures and in learning how to edit the photos I take.  I have been blessed by having friends and family let me take family portraits and by other friends and family going on photo excursions with me on the weekend.  I love it.  I fully expect to get to heaven and learn that I was an artist in the preexistence.  It makes me happy!

And….I’m finally posting to this blog.
IT HAS BEGUN! 🙂

 

Posted on September 27, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

