Double-Fudge Sunday, Anyone?

Have you ever had one of those days where you just want to throw your hands up in the air and retreat into a double-fudge Sunday?  Yeah.  It’s one of those.  I’ve been trying really hard lately to be positive and even when things aren’t going quite as I would like them to I look for the good.  I’m having a hard time holding that perspective today.

I’ve been working hard to put a dent into my debt.  It seem as though every time I get close to having my $1000 emergency fund in place (as per Dave Ramsey’s advice) something happens and I need to use it.  I’ve spent the last 2 years trying to get $1K saved.  Seriously?   No progress gets made on the debt. L

So, last month I felt like I was finally getting there.  I got paid for a photo gig (that I’m still not finished editing) and I managed to have some other funds building up.  I had decided that I need to pursue taking family photos/senior photos, etc. in order to make a few extra $ to throw at my debt.  Life was good.  Until…

  • My garage door broke
  • My car was well past its 30K mi service and I had to get it taken care of (traveling next month)
  • Sprinkler broken
  • Dr.  bills

You get the picture.  Life is still good…just more challenging that I was wanting at this particular moment.

All-in-all I’ve been able to stay pretty positive.  I am grateful I had money available to cover the above-mentioned yuck.  That is a blessing in and of itself.  And, they are all just material things.  It really could be much worse.

Last night, though, my camera died.  I can’t even explain how sad this makes me.  I called the local distributor and it will be a minimum of $200 to fix it—likely more.  It hadn’t finished downloading all of the pictures from my last shoot—luckily the local camera shop will pull them from my SD card for me.  My long-range plans include upgrading to a better camera body, so I’m thinking I’ll just save my $200 and be without a camera for several months until I can afford something different.  It will be like missing a limb and will force me to think outside of the box, yet again.

While my initial though last night at midnight when I finally gave up on trying to make the camera work was to dive head-long into that double-fudge Sunday I mentioned earlier, I choose to think of these things as a challenge.  I am not defeated!  I’m smart.  I’m strong.  I’m resourceful.  This is yet another opportunity for me to stretch and prove to myself that I can handle it.  Saying this doesn’t mean I’m not discouraged.  I am, but I only have control over so much.  And…who knows?  Good things could come from all of angst.   Right?

 

Posted on May 1, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Right! I’ve come to learn that money does not equal security. My sense of security comes from knowing that I’m resourceful and able. I am connected to the Source of all things, therefore lack cannot exist in my life. The way we learn this lesson is unfortunately through loss.

  2. I’m so sorry that you have struggled so – I like Dave Ramsey’s books very much and we too have been trying to follow his plan. It can be a trial though when things come up. I love your attitude!

Leave a Reply

