Dairy is NOT my Friend

Wow….I’ve not posted in a long time.  Sorry for the radio silence.

I recently found out I have a food sensitivity to ……  DAIRY!  UGH!  No more cheese for me.  No more ice cream.  It wouldn’t be so bad if that was all, but seriously, dairy is in E.V.E.R.Y.T.H.I.N.G.!  Some fast food places have dairy by-products on their french fries.  Caramel coloring is made a couple of different ways, one of which uses dairy.

Let’s just say the past three weeks have been…..interesting.  I’ve tried very hard to stick to my dairy-free regimen.  I haven’t been perfect.  I’ve also been pushing vegetables.  And… 21 days later I can honestly say that I can’t see my future without a daily green smoothie.  I LOVE them.  A particular recent favorite is spinach, basil, orange, (and I put a banana in every one to help with the texture).

You have to know that I really really REALLY loved dairy.  I ate a lot of cheese and ate a lot of ice cream.  I also ate a lot of the packaged/processed foods that contain a lot of the dairy derivatives.  I can honestly say that so much has improved with this change that I don’t think I’ll ever care if I eat any dairy ever again in my life.

I’m sleeping better.  My moods have improved exponentially.  My energy levels are better.  Best of all my ability to tolerate exercise is improving.  I still have issues if I push things too hard, but even when I do the recovery time is much less than it has been for several year.

I see a light at the end of the tunnel.  I’m pretty sure it’s not a train.  :)   I’m doing my happy dance!

Posted on March 31, 2012, in Fibromyalgia, Food, Hope. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Any changes in your skin? I find when I leave dairy behind, my skin clears up beautifully.

    It’s tough to make the change away from dairy, but the rewards are considerable. For so long it’s been marketed as a health food, but it really isn’t.

    Good luck with your new way of eating. You will reap the benefits.

  2. I love dairy foods so if I found out I had an intolerance to it, I would not be happy! Having said that, I have heard that cutting back on dairy is a good move and it sounds like it’s working out for you

Leave a Reply

