Personal Mission Statements

I’ve read a lot in my quest for awesome time management skills about developing a personal mission statement.  It is a tool that a lot of people with goal-oriented lives use.  While I’ve thought about it a lot, I haven’t actually made a whole-hearted attempt at getting one down in writing.  I have some vague ideas of who I want to be and what I want to accomplish, but, to be honest, it just seems like an insurmountable task to en capsulize all that I am and all that I want to be and do into a succinct statement of purpose.

Sometimes I think that part of the reason I spend so much time like a pup chasing its tail (which is what a lot of things in life feel like to me) is because I haven’t rooted out the “statement” of purpose clearly enough.

Do you have a personal mission statement?  If so, would you be willing to share it?  And share any insights you may have into the process that helped you arrive at this statement?

If not, what do you think about them?  Good idea?  Waste of time?

Posted on February 8, 2012, in Goals, Time Management. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I think we get caught up in the “theory” sometimes. Maybe it’s just me, but I feel a need to retreat a bit from all that and actually just do the stuff I need to do. So no, I don’t have a personal mission statement. If I had, it would change all the time!

Leave a Reply

