YIKES!

I had great ambitions to do some fantastical personal budgeting in the month of January.  Well….let’s just say that I didn’t and leave it at that.  I did, however, take a serious look at my expenditures for January at the end of the month and I was alarmed, although not altogether surprised, about how much money I spent on nothing.

Nothing isn’t exactly the most accurate description, but lets just say that I had to catch my breath when I realized that i had spend almost double (yes 2x) the amount that I had budgeted (and very generously budgeted I might add) for things like groceries, eating out, entertainment, etc.

My response to such a discovery has been to set a much less generous (but still completely doable) budget for February.  In an attempt to really stick to my guns, I withdrew this amount and will be paying for all said incidentals with cash.  And….when the cash is gone, I am D.O.N.E.

So far….well, I’m a little scared for the last week-a-half of the month but completely convinced that I can prove to myself that this can be done.

Wish me luck!

Posted on February 6, 2012, in Budget, Goals. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I need to seriously do this as well! I think I’ll join you in March (well from payday to payday – 25 Feb to 24 Mar).

    • Sounds great Hanlie! 🙂 Keep me posted on your progress. The past 8 days have been very enlightening. I’m thinking it’ll be a pretty lean 2/20-2/29, but I love how much I’m learning about myself, what drives me to spend (i.e., mood, boredome, etc.)–which correlates quite well with what drives me to eat, etc.

Leave a Reply

