Obsessed!

Shhhhhh!  Don’t tell anyone, but I’ve recently become obsessed with Bento Boxes!

I admit, obsessed is probably too strong in light of the fact that I haven’t actually purchased one yet.  You see, I’m not really a believer in collecting things.  I am much happier having one or three ( 🙂 ) carefully selected items than being overrun with something I like to the point that I can no longer stand the sight of it.

However, I have been obsessively pouring over the prospects online.  I need to find just the right combination of practical, whimsical, and pretty.

A good resource for all things Bento that I just discovered is justbento.com.  I love the pictures and Makiko Itoh’s writing style is delightful.  You may be asking yourself what the difference is between a Bento and a regular lunch box.  Makiko describes that difference beautifully here (and I just love the video–sniff, sniff).  I love the thought that the Bento is steeped in tradition.  There is just something about making lunch an event rather than a chore.  My good friend Rose and I used to get together to make new recipes and try new things.  One of the things that she taught me is that we eat with our eyes first and that presentation matters. I imagine the beautiful lunches I can make and I’m simply giddy!

I still haven’t found a Bento that I’m ready to commit to yet, but I am so enjoying the anticipation of all the yummy lunches I’m going to bring to work when I find that just right Bento.

Do any of you use Bento?

Posted on October 26, 2011, in Food. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hey there you! The Splendid Table on NPR just had a segment about these boxes that mothers would send to school with their children. The moms job was to make the food look fabulous and the child’s job was to eat it. It was such a fun conversation. I think it was two Thursdays ago and I bet you could look it up on Thesplendidtable.org. Fun stuff. So glad to be your friend Rose. Love ya!

Leave a Reply

