Experience

Today I want to share one of my favorite scriptures:

Doctrine and Covenants 122:7 And if thou shouldst be cast into the pit, or into the hands of murderers, and the sentence of death passed upon thee; if thou be cast into the deep; if the billowing surge conspire against thee; if fierce winds become thine enemy; if the heavens gather blackness, and all the elements combine to hedge up the way; and above all, if the very jaws of hell shall gape open the mouth wide after thee, know thou, my son, that all these things shall give thee experience, and shall be for thy good.

While I certainly don’t compare my situation to that of Joseph Smith, this scripture came to mind yesterday and I felt a sweet peace reassuring me that my trials and the things that often cause me pain and sadness are necessary for me to give me the experiences I need so that I can become the person the Lord would have me be.  They will be for my good.

I don’t know for sure how being overweight, or experiencing the sadness and loneliness that sometimes accompanies being single, or how having to work through poor financial decisions time and time again, or the chips they all have made in my self-esteem armor will work together for my good, but I BELIEVE that they will.

I can’t wait to see what is around the next corner.

🙂

Posted on October 19, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Yes, we can’t undo the past and nor should we. It makes us who we are. Life is an adventure!

  1. Pingback: Beautiful Heartbreak « Teresa Takes Charge

Leave a Reply

