Eat Your Fruits and Veggies

This is going to be a really quickie post.  One of the big things that I’m trying to change in my life is my diet.  I have had a really poor diet the past several years.  I will make some modest progress from time to time, but find it so easy to slip back into old habits.  I’ve been doing a lot of research lately and have decided to not eat any animal products for the rest of the year.  Yes, starting immediately, yours truly is going to be vegan (I really hate the label but it is the quickest and easiest way to let others know my new dietary restrictions).  I’ve been hesitant about making this jump because I don’t dislike meat, I’m completely enthralled with dairy (even though I know it gives me tummy troubles), and most of the convenience food I turn too is meat based.

However, after much research, thought, and prayer, I’ve decided that I need to give this a good honest try.  I’ll post again soon with some of the resources I’ve used to make this decision.  I’ve particularly been concerned about meals being boring or bland, but I’m happy to say that I’ve recently found several web-sites and cookbooks for vegan fare that are anything but bland and boring and I’m excited to do this. I’ve also fallen in love with juicing and making my own green smoothies.  So yummy!

Too often my food choices have been based on what is convenient, what tastes good, what is most comforting, etc.  When it comes right down to it, food is fuel.  I want to give myself the best chance possible to overcome my current physical and health limitations by taking care of my body to the very best of my ability.  What I choose to consume is a big part of how well my body will do.

Wish me luck!

Posted on September 7, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

