Just Be….

Sometime I get caught up in plans, planning, longing, and yearning for what I want to be, who I want to be, and who I know I am meant to be.  I’m a great planner.  I make lists.  I write appointments to exercise in my calendar. I buy groceries with every intent of eating right.  I sign up for races I don’t complete.  I sign up for classes I don’t finish. But somehow the best laid plans end up being nothing more than big sticks to beat myself with.

Does anyone else do that?  Am I alone?

Why isn’t it as simple as determining “this” is who I want to be/how I want to act/the best way to live my life in order to accomplish my purpose and then putting it into practice?  Why must I get mired down in all this other crap?  Do I expect more than is realistic and that is why I am thwarted? Am I just lazy?

How to move from being a planner to a doer?  Any insights?

Posted on July 13, 2011, in Teresa. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. You are not alone! This sounds so familiar. Maybe you are so caught up in envisioning the long term end result that the small triumphs aren’t affirming for you? I know for me it is easy to overlook many things done right, then beat myself up for a small lapse and feel like a complete failure. It’s hard to be fair to myself and keep things in perspective.

  2. My best friend pointed this tendency out to a few months ago (I love that woman!). She told me to take my eyes off the vision board and start looking where I’m going right now. I realized that all this planning is just another avoidance tactic and it’s taken me a while, but I’m getting better at being present and “doing” the stuff.

Leave a Reply

