February: A Month In Review

Hello friends.  It’s been a while.  Too long!  I’ve missed you!  I’m wondering how February treated each of you.  February is kind of a hard month for me.  It’s still cold out and there are frequent winter storms to deal with.  I’ve shoveled more snow in the past 30 days than I care to remember.   The post-holiday blah’s have usually really set in for me by February.  Thankfully, February is a short month.

It was my intent to liven February up with a fun post-per-day driven by the letters of the Alphabet but only made it to D.  While it is sad that I didn’t make it at least to F so we could have the fun post I had planned on “failure” I still have time and can recite the alphabet as slowly as I want, so all is not lost.  It may take me until next February, but I will finish reciting the Alphabet.  🙂

I worked with a personal trainer/nutritionist for January and February and learned some very important lessons related to my relationship with food.  It was a struggle.  I have a lot of emotional attachment to food and some ideas about who I am as a person (or who I fear I might be or might not be) and I’ve used (or misused) food as a means of dealing with (or not dealing with) those issues.  Knowledge is power and in that realm I have gained a lot.

I struggled with some health issues.  I’ve seen doctors.  I’ve had blood tests.  When it is all said and done I’m not a whole lot farther down the road in knowing how to help me feel better.  I am, however, paying Dr. bills out the waaaaazoo, so that is no fun.  In a lot of ways it has been good to go through this.  I’m a lot more appreciative of good health, and as far as the money goes I’m realizing that it is worth it to invest in preventative care and things like maintaining health and fitness because you will pay one way or the other.  I know in the future I would much rather “invest” in my health and wellness than pay for countless Dr. bills and tests (although I’m very grateful for knowledgeable doctors and the amazing gift of modern medicine).

A particular issue for the month has revolved around sleep.  As you know I had a couple of sleep studies done in December and was diagnosed with Obstructive Sleep Apnea.  Learning to wear the mask at night has been a trial.  One I have not yet conquered.  But, I have learned that with or without the c-pap intervention I have really fractured sleep.  Most nights I get an average of 3.5 hours of sleep—even though I may be in bed for 8+ hours.  The sleep studies showed very little time in REM sleep—like a little more than an hour—and from what I understand that is pretty important.  So, it has been a month of trial and error with the c-pap, with figuring out which of my beds works best—or if I need to buy a new mattress, and what circumstances and habits need to be present in order to maximize my rest.  I’ve learned that I don’t have much tolerance for sleeping pills or drugs of that nature.  I’ve learned a lot and had a pretty good night last night, which has resulted in a much better day so far than usual.  My mind is clear.  I feel happy.  I know I’ll get this figured out sooner than later.

Along the lines of preventative care and food issues, I’ve been thinking a lot about the choices I make and the foods I choose to consume.  I’m working towards a diet with more whole foods, less meat and dairy (although I don’t think at this point I can go without them all together), and trying to be conscious of everything I eat (how I feel when I want to eat, etc.).  I’m not perfect yet.  But I am doing better every day.  My trainer was helping with this, but unfortunately I have to take a month or two break while I pay the medical bills off.  Luckily, I can see that even though I didn’t think I had progressed much, I’ve made some real strides in developing healthy habits.  I am hopeful I can resume training soon.

Well, my friends.  I hope February was kind to you.  I hope that March bring health and happiness to us all.

Posted on March 4, 2011, in Teresa. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’m sorry to hear that you have so many health issues right now… Hope it all gets resolved soon!

Leave a Reply

