The Biggest Loser

So….who watched the premiere on Tuesday night?  I sure did.  I must admit, I had just a small twinge of “I should be there” when I watched.  You know, the same kind of twinge that you have when you see that boyfriend you loved so much who broke up with you when you see him with someone else for the first time.  You wonder, “Why did he pick her and not me?”  “What does she have that I don’t.”  “Why was I not good enough?”  But, much to my surprise (because it sure lasts a heck of a lot longer in the other example) that twinge lasted for a mere moment.

I LOVE THIS CAST!   Every one of them! How could I for one minute begrudge them this awesome opportunity?  If I were there, one of them wouldn’t be and I can’t even imagine that.   AND…..people from my very own home town are there (Go Justin and Rulon)!  I feel a special tie to them too because they both grew up near where I grew up—Rulon in Star Valley WY and Justin in Cokeville WY.   So, I love them.  I just can’t help myself.  And….it doesn’t hurt that they seem to be very nice, genuine guys too.

Sarah and her mom?  They are awesome.  I read Sarah’s blog when I was considering auditioning for the show and what I read there helped me make up my mind to give it a try.  When she said something during the episode about knowing that she is meant to be a mother, I choked up.  I choke up now just writing this.  I have felt the same way.  I just didn’t do anything about it in time (and I think I use my weight as a way to keep men at bay because that kind of commitment scares me—but that’s a whole other post).  I’m old (in child bearing years).  My prospects (for a man in my life) are limited right now.  I don’t think I’ll be having children of my own now.  Happily though, there are lots of little people in my life and I get opportunities to be a mother-once-removed frequently and will relish in that role as long as I’m allowed to.

The grey team is also an early favorite—mainly because I was raised in southeastern Idaho and they are from southeastern Idaho.  I have to support my Idaho peeps.  Moses had an AWESOME weigh in.  I think they will be a force to be reckoned with.

Who couldn’t love Courtney?  That girl is beautiful and has already shown such determination.  I hope she goes a long way in the show and I know that she will totally achieve any goal she sets for herself.   My heart goes out to Arthur who has also shown fortitude by losing weight before getting to the ranch.  I could really relate to his lamenting about still needing to “lose his dad.”  I’m often stuck in the frame of reference of the big picture and when you still have 200+ pounds to lose it is overwhelming.  The kind of overwhelming that could land you spoon down (and up and down, and up and down) in the middle of the Kitchen Sink* from Angie’s restaurant.  And Jen—I read her blog prior to auditioning as well.  She is lovely.

I don’t have space to mention them all today, but just because they are not named here specifically today doesn’t mean I like them any less.  I really do like this whole cast.

What are your thoughts on this season?  I’d love to chat with you about it.  XOXO  🙂  Teresa

_____________

*locals will get this reference.  For non locals, it is the biggest banana split I have ever seen—you can see pictures on their facebook page here

Posted on January 6, 2011, in Teresa and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I can’t remember all their names, but I love the Wyoming boys, and I’m totally intrigued by the purple team–the sisters and one of them is an opera singer. I’m so impressed with the guy and the girl who have each already lost more than 100 pounds to get on the show. Wow!

    Really, I like them all, and I’m hoping for a season with lots of great moments, and not very much game play. The Brendan/Frado M.O. of last season kind of disappointed me.

    On another note, Eric and I have a bet as to how soon cast members will find themselves in a Subway restaurant. My bet is the fifth episode, Eric thinks it will be the third. Care to wager?

  2. Charlotte–love the wager! I’m in for the 4th episode. 🙂

    I’m also hoping for a season with less game play and nastiness.

  3. I’m so glad you wrote this post! I did not pay as much attention as I should have to get to know the players, names, colors, etc….I too had a twinge of sadness and regret and maybe a little envy that I was not there, but it didn’t last long. I would like to discuss that on the phone sometime. I kept meaning to ask who “Nitta” was, so I’m thrilled that you told me so I can pay special attention to her. I also love Courtney (is she the one who lost over 100 pounds before getting on?) She’s my current favorite. I will look forward to this season and enjoy it. The best part will be discussing it.

    • Hi Margie! It was so good to see you via Skype on Monday! Miss you tons. Courtney is the one who lost over 100 on her own. I’m kind of leaning towards being in the remaining Orange girls corner. She seems like a hard worker. I haven’t completely processed this weeks show. Can’t wait to visit with you about it.

Leave a Reply

