Bummer!

Are you familiar with Obstructive Sleep Apnea?  I am.  I have been for a long time because some people close to me have it.  Unfortunately, I just found out that I have it too.  It’s a double-edged sword really.  I’m not the least bit happy that I have it.  I wonder if I would have had it if I hadn’t let myself get so fat.  Or, as I know many thin people who have it, I wonder if it is one of the many reasons why weight gain has plagued me—especially the past few years.  On the other end of the sword, though, I am happy to know that there is a something that may explain why I have been so utterly exhausted the past few years.  I don’t even begin to understand all of the technical jargon in the doctor’s report (Margie probably would, but I don’t).  When I hear phrases like “severe sleep fragmentation” and numbers that would indicate that I stop breathing at least 5 times an hour during the other phases of sleep increasing to well over once every two minutes during REM sleep I feel all at once validated and like I want to cry giant crocodile tears.

Of course, along with C-Pap, the doctor prescribed exercise and weight loss (duh—but I guess they have to tell you and not assume that you just know).  I’m not sure she believed me when I told her I have been trying (for a long time) and that I hoped now I would have sufficient energy to complete the task.

I’ll have to do another overnight sleep study so they can titrate the C-Pap.  I’m not looking forward to that.  It wasn’t horrible, but really, how much fun is it to sleep away from home while people watch you.  Not as much fun as you might think.

As much as I hate this diagnosis and wish that it wasn’t a part of my life, I’m choosing to embrace it.  I know the C-Pap will feel intrusive and that it may take some time to get used to, but it will be my new favorite thing. I assume that in time it will help me feel better.  Hopefully that will allow me to do the things I want to do.

Posted on December 9, 2010, in Teresa. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Second night at the sleep lab zoomed by. When the tech came in and said “It’s time to get up.” my response was “Already?” It felt like it took forever for me to fall asleep but it was only about 30 minutes (1/3 the time it did the first night). When I did wake up in the night I wondered if he was ever going to turn the pressure up because it just felt like nothing. So I asked him if he ever had to turn it up and it had been up as high as a 10. Weird. He let me look at the graphs of my study’s side-by-side and explained a few things and it was very apparent that I got a lot more sleep with the c-pap. Can’t wait to get my own and get moving!

Leave a Reply

