I like to play!

Yesterday morning for our group workout we got to play!  This was a reward for completely killing our weight loss goal for last week as a team.  We were given the choice of Ultimate Frisbee, Basketball, or Soccer.  We picked Basketball and threw a little WallyBall in for good measure.  All in all, the hour netted a 600 calorie burn.  YAY!

Even better than the calorie burn, I was reminded that I like playing sports.  It was as if, just for a moment, I remembered the old me—the me who is good at sports, and likes running and jumping, and hitting.  I’m sure I still looked like a fat lady running (well, walking fast) down the court and I probably didn’t look like I was enjoying myself, but it was there.  I heard the faint whisper of who I really am as I was running down that court.  She’s still in there.  I hope that she will soon be SHOUTING!

In fact, I was so excited that I decided to go back in the evening for Zumba.  Totally loved it.  Totally can’t move like a dancer.  Had fun anyway.  Burned another 600 calories!  WOOT!  Unfortunate side effect:  every muscle in my body was so tired that I slept right through my alarm and missed class this morning.  Never fear!  I will go tonight instead.

On a weigh in note:  UGH!  I haven’t bought a new scale yet.  So, for this week I’m going to go with the results from the gym.  I initially weighed in on October 2 on the gym scale at 331.8.  One week later, I weighed in at 323.8 for a loss of 8 pounds.  I’m sorry I don’t have a picture of the scale, but I’m not taking my nice camera to the gym.  Hopefully I’ll make time to buy a new scale for home this week.

I’m learning a lot about how I deal with food–or maybe how I’ve let food deal with me.  Hopefully those thoughts will gell into a post soon.

Posted on October 12, 2010, in Teresa, Teresa's Greatest Loser Challenge, weekly weigh in. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. You are amazing. Wish I could get in two 600 calorie burn workouts a day!

  2. Thanks, K. But I paid for it. Yesterday I was EXHAUSTED! Today I’m tired. Hopefully tomorrow I will feel normal.

  1. Pingback: A look into my WHY. « Athletic Ambitions

Leave a Reply

